Happy Pizza in Phnom Penh

On our last night in Cambodia, we decided to try out the famous happy pizza. I’ve read about it online, and friends were also telling me about it. I have not tried this so I didn’t really have any idea how it works, or what happens. My knowledge is based on the stuff I have read online. So, after dinner, we walked around the Sisowath Quay area, just to check everything out. While walking, we saw the 3 restos side by side each other all offering Cambodia’s happy pizza. From what I know, they also sell the same thing in Siem Reap, but since we had a full day in Siem Reap, Phnom Penh was our only chance. Only chance talaga, hahaha. The restaurants we saw were also the pizza places that we saw online. I guess just choose your spot?

343536

Like what the internet tells you, there is absolutely no challenge at all when it comes to ordering. You literally just ask for the menu, and give the pizza flavor of your choice, and tell them how much of the stuff you want put in. Of course, as newbies, we just said to put the littlest amount possible. We didn’t want to miss our bus to Vietnam the next day okay.

So, it doesn’t immediately kick in. But after maybe 30-40 minutes, it just suddenly hits you. I can’ really explain, you know when you turn the knob of your player’s volume on and off? That’s how it felt. And it felt like I was floating and my eyes were heavy and I wanted to sleep, haha. I mean, I don’t hate it, and I don’t have anything against people who do it, but I guess it’s not just for me.

Anyway, here’s my only evidence that we tried it:

37

Maybe those green thingies are the culprit? The funny thing was, on our way back to our hotel, tuktuk drivers would approach us offering us more of those stuff. It’s a little scary for me because I literally have no plans whatsoever to buy, right after trying to eat it you know. I’m also surprised that it was being offered blatantly – to tourists. Anyway, I’m just going to end this post with my one and only photo (again) of the Vietnamese border we crossed by bus on our way to our last country for this trip.

38

Be back soon! ❀

One thought on “Happy Pizza in Phnom Penh

Leave a Reply

