Travel Tales: IndoChina, Bangkok Leg

Okay. I don’t know how possible it is to accomplish this but my mind is really telling me that it’s time to tell my story about my IndoChina backpacking adventure last August 2015. I know, a true blogger would probably be posting his stories real-time, but you know me, I’m the worst at this.

So first off, in October 2014, Cebu Pacific had one of their hit or miss seat sales. As someone who lives and will die for travel, I of course started shopping for flights and prices online. Long story short, I got to buy a one-way ticket from Manila to Bangkok and return from Ho Chi Minh for about php3000. I guess the waiting game will always be the most challenging part when it comes to booking a flight almost a year in advance, but there are also a lot of advantages. First, I get to research on the countries I will visit, what the place is like, get tips and tricks from other travelers and bloggers, and as a nerd, I read Wikipedia to learn a bit about that city or country’s history (yes, I really do). Next, I get to check on the hostel and hotel reviews and prices for the city/cities I will stay in, wait until I feel like the price cannot go any lower and book it. Lastly, I get to tweak my itinerary (depending on my research) and give myself a sample computation on how much my expenses will be for the trip. Sobrang haba ng introduction ko kaloka. Dahil dyan, photo break!

IMG_3434
We were at the airport at 2 in the morning for our 6AM flight

So, the trip will be for 6 whole days, entering Bangkok and leaving Ho Chi Minh. The plan was to stay just overnight in Bangkok since my friends and I had all been to BKK before. It was really more of like an entry point for us and we really didn’t have any itinerary for Bangkok, except to maybe go around their malls and look for cheap things to buy and eat.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0032.
Khaosan Road

I’ve been to Bangkok a couple of times but it was the first time I have heard about Khaosan Road. It was more of a lucky break because that was were our hostel was located. We found out when we arrived that Khaosan is actually Bangkok’s backpakers’ area, yehey! It was like two to three whole streets of hostels, food stalls, people selling bags and clothes, and more food.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0040. Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
Where we bought lunch

One tip: just because it’s August and it’s the rainy season in the Philippines, does not mean it’s going to be the same in Bangkok. It was scorching hot!!! We had to go back to our hostel and rest before heading out again to walk around Khaosan.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0045.
An altar in the middle of Khaosan

After walking around Khaosan, we went to Pratunam Market to check out more of Bangkok’s street markets. Easiest way to go from Khaosan to Pratunam is by taking a cab.

IMG_3444

IMG_3445

I was contemplating about buying these fried insects and trying them out just for the sake of it, but I decided against it because I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to do it, haha. So I just took a stolen photo – because an actual, legit photo will take about 15 to 20 baht.

So this photo sucks. I’ve been trying to upload this multiple times but it just keeps on getting uploaded like this!!! All I want to do is to show you what I had when we dropped by MBK Mall!

IMG_3447

Anywaaaaaay. One thing I have always loved about Bangkok is the many cute finds inside convenience stores, like so:

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0048.

IMG_3436

Remember also that Bangkok traffic is famous, and you get reminded of it during rush hour. We headed back to Khaosan – and saw that the place is very, very different at night. In a good way!

Before anything else, my friend and I decided to have a legit foot Thai massage:

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Then, we walked around to look for food to eat.

There were sooo many food choices and I seriously wanted to try all!

IMG_3454

IMG_3437
More 7-11 finds

IMG_3477

The best thing for me was being able to walk around the area with beer in hand. 😀

IMG_3479

Khaosan Road at night is like one huge street party! Like, literally everyone was dancing on the streets and music was everywhere. I guess it was also summer break in most European counties (?) so there were also a lot of tourists during the entire time we did our backpacking.

IMG_3484

Sorry, can’t help it. Too many cute photos of these from the tons of 7-11 stores we went to, hehee.

I think we ended up going back to our hostel at around 1 or 2 in the morning, that was still a little early because our van going to Bangkok-Cambodia border will leave at 7am.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

All in all, even though we only had 1 day and 1 night in Bangkok, I would say I had a blast doing nothing and not worrying if I will be able to do all of my planned itinerary for the day. I also loved the fact that we never planned on going to Khaosan but I’m really happy we ended up staying in that area for my latest Bangkok stay. 🙂

Leave a Reply

