2016 Holy Week

Last March, I initially thought that I’d be spending Holy Week at home. There were no plans to go anywhere, and I was actually looking forward to staying at home and doing nothing. Maybe join the Good Friday procession, but nothing else aside from that. I was also not planning on taking any leaves because we have clients in the office (I know, Holy Week, but we have to go to work, hehe). 2 weeks before Holy Week, my parents started talking about maybe going to Bicol or somewhere. Talk about no preparations, haha. Kaloka nanay ko. I told them we have clients and that I can only take a leave on Friday.

So last minute, we all decided to just go to La Union and do a side trip to Baguio. My parents, brother, together with my aunt’s family left early. They were in La Union at around 10 in the morning. My sister and I, on the other hand, left Makati at about that time. I guess the good thing about leaving on a Friday (instead of joining the holiday rush) was that there was no traffic whatsoever. We arrived at the hotel around 3pm, but decided to just sleep it out and wait for them to come back.

We had dinner at Halo-halo di Iloko – then decided to just go back to the hotel and sleep early – which is the main reason I do not have any photos, hahaha. There isn’t really a lot of things to see in La Union, since it really is more of a beach place, and my parents together with my cousins have already gone around LU, so the plan was to do a side trip in Baguio and spend the entire Saturday there.

First stop: BenCab Museum

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

My cousins have never been to Baguio so after BenCab, we went to Burnham Park – one of Baguio’s most tourist-y place. We weren’t there to have a picnic or have a boat ride. We just went there for the heck of it, and lunch. Haha.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Baguio will not be complete if you don’t try strawberry taho. And, I don’t remember the last time I had ice scramble so I made sure to buy one at a nearby stall. 😀

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Puto bumbong in March

Next we went to Mine’s View Park – another Baguio tourist trap. There really isn’t much to see you know. The place is really crowded (weekend + Holy Week + summer vacation) and the truth is, it doesn’t look like the people managing the place are taking great care of it. Anyway, there were succulent plants being sold everywhere for a very affordable price so we bought two to try and be adults (BTW, one of them looks like it’s about to die already).

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

My mom’s ultimate goal for the day was to buy vegetables so the last stop was at the Strawberry Farms and buy about a week or two’s supply of veggies.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

We left Baguio just in time to have dinner back in LU. The next day, we dropped by Ma-Cho Temple (not much to see) and a statue of Christ the Redeemer.

DCIM101GOPROGOPR2510.

The only itinerary we have left was visit the grape vineyards – just to see what the heck the hype was.

Well, yeah, it was just the hype. But at least we all got to try picking grapes. 😀 All in all, still ended up being a great weekend with my crazy family!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Leave a Reply

