Family Days

Because of work, I rarely get to go home to our real house now. The last time I was home was back in May – I feel like sa ibang bansa ako nagwo-work, caloca. It’s the same thing with my sister, work keeps us away from my mom’s great cooking and bonding time with our cousins. So, when there’s opportunity for us to get together as one big happy family, we take advantage of it. 😉

Like last Father’s Day, since we can’t go home to Bulacan, we just told ze parents to go visit us then we’ll just treat them dinner. Hehehe. Ang spoiled brats namin ‘no?

While waiting for the food. Realized we all smile the same it’s totally ridiculous! In a good way, hehe.

We make it a point to treat them naman. We don’t let them pay for anything na. They only have to pay for the toll fee, gas and parking nalang hehe.

The face of very full stomachs.

I love posting pictures of our family, and I even have our own reality-TV title: Keeping Up with the Arrezas. I know walang originality pero kebs na! After this Father’s Day dinner at Yabu, while at the car, both of them started telling me that the two of them had been talking behind my back a few months ago about the status of my love life. Inamin nila na pinag-uusapan na nila ako at ayaw lang nilang magtanong. Hahahaha. So the conversation went on until we got home and we were about to sleep. Hehehe.

Another one of those photograph-proof that we all smile the same.

What I love about my relationship with my siblings is that I feel like our parents have raised us really well. I love sharing that I have a really great relationship with them. Now that we are older, gone are the love-hate feelings that you have for your sister/brother because of something really simple or immature. The truth is, even if we don’t get to see each other every day, I can always feel their love. Naks!

Maybe because back when we were young, bawal ang mag-away sa bahay. We grew up na sila Mommy and Daddy lang ang pwede mag-away, hahaha. Caloca ang rule pero it was a very great rule, because since we were kids, super minsan lang talaga kami nag-aaway.

Since majority of our individual lives are governed by work and social life – whenever there is an opportunity for us 3 to be together – riot. Saya. Ang dami naming kwentuhan and I really love the fact that we are more open to each other about the things happening in our lives. I’m happy because now that we are older, we are really becoming more closer. Kahit pa lagi kaming walang time for each other or minsan Hi-Goodbye lang ang eksena namin sa condo, hehe.

I remember there was this time when our parents were pressuring us to look for a condo unit already. We have been renting for the last 4-5 years and they decided to just buy one since it’s a good investment. So we all checked the place out then had a very late lunch at Mister Jones. For some whatever reason, we had not given my brother his birthday and Christmas gift. So that day, since minsan lang mangyari na magkakasama kami, we decided to finally buy our promised, uber delayed gift. Pero kailangan ko muna silang ilibre ng lunch kasi daw na-promote ako. Namulubi talaga ako nung day na yun, hahaha. We ordered a LOT, as in good for 6 people yata pero in all fairness, naubos talaga namin ha! At naubos din pera ko hehehe. But still, it was fun!

Thanks to technology, specifically Line the app, we are always connected. Grabe, ang lakas maka-tag line nun! Pero it’s true, we do have a lot of kulitan moments when chatting that sometimes, when I’m bored, I get a screenshot and post it, just like the one above. Minsan naman, I just send a funny sticker, wala lang, hehehe.

I’m not saying we are the epitome of a perfect family and perfect example of how siblings should be. Last month nga lang ang dysfunctional ng effect namin eh. Simply because we didn’t coordinate with each other very well about the different requirements for renewing a passport. Yes. Nagkagulo kami sa requirements na kailangan. Nagalit si Mommy. Badtrip ako. Galit na din si Karen. Sinisisi si CJ. Etc, etc. But the funny thing was, on the day itself, parang walang inisan na naganap. Hahaha. My parents even bought Jollibee breakfast for us. Woohoo! Hehehe. Saya diba. Tapos wala lang. Kwentuhan and tawanan lang kami while in line. I loved that even though we were only together for a short while, that was still family day for me. Diba?

Now that we are all grown ups (yehes!), once thing I noticed is that we love treating our parents. To dinner, movies, travel, etc. I know it’s nothing compared to everything they did for us, but it really feels something when you are giving back. 🙂

Kaya last Sunday, we treated the Padre to the FIBA Asia Championship game! Hehehe. I’m not really a basketball fan, basta ako magchee-cheer lang ako sa team na dapat i-cheer. But I have no freakin’ idea what the fouls are, etc. Our dad, on the other hand, is one hell of a basketball fanatic. And gusto niya din naman tiyak mapanood – hindi lang super priority. So thru Line (yes i-promote talaga?), my siblings and I decided to treat our dad. Just my dad because we invited both of them but ayaw ni mother. Siya ang literal na walang hilig sa basketball. At maiingayan lang daw siya, hahaha.

Saya namin ‘diba? Hehe. Sabi ko nga when I posted the pictures, since we can’t afford to bring the Padre to Spain, sa Arena na lang muna. Well, Gilas got Silver but it’s still a very nice experience. And to have our dad experience it too feels great.

Sabi nila since we were kids CJ looks exactly like our Dad. Ewan. Hindi ko makita ang resemblance. Pero when I was in high school, my parents showed us a picture of our dad when he was around 7-10 yo and nacacaloca. Parang si CJ lang na nilagyan ng Instagram filter! Dahil dun naniwala na akong magkamukha sila hehehe.

Anway, my dad had to go home ASAP after the game since it was raining na pala. As in nagalit si Labuyo sa pagkatalo ng Pinas so habang lungkut-lungkutan ang peg ng mga tao sa arena, bagyo levels na pala sa labas. Hehehe. Ang ending…

Photograph-proof #52 that we look like each other. Hindi made-deny ang pagiging magkakapatid.

Dinner for 5-6 people finished by 3. Hahaha. I don’t know but a lot of our bonding moments happen while eating. Siguro kasi sa bahay bawal tumayo ng dining table until everyone is done eating. At masarap naman talaga kumain, lalo na kung ang sarap din ng kain ng mga kasama mo!

I hope that when we get to have our own families, we’d still continue having Sundays or whataver day of the week as Family Days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

