Travel Tales: Corregidor

I am no travel expert but traveling is what I will forever do if money was never an option. I always find myself smiling whenever I look at old pictures about my past travels. I have been inspired by people who are hardcore travel lovers, and I hope to do the same to other people too. I also want this blog to be a memento of all the places I have been to in my life so my kids and grand kids will get to see who I was back when I was young and carefree and most of the times broke. Hehehe. So please bear with me as I share with you my travel tales. 🙂 I know it’s too late for VDay, but if you have plans on going on a quick getaway from the city, without the hassle of bulky bags, place to stay and things to do, then Corregidor is da place! Hehehe. c1 Corregidor Island, locally called Isla ng Corregidor, is a lofty island located at the entrance of Manila Bay in southwestern part of Luzon Island in the Philippines. Due to this location, Corregidor was fortified with several coastal artillery and ammunition magazines to defend the entrance of Manila Bay and the City of Manila from attacks by enemy warships in the event of war. Located 48 kilometres (30 mi) inland, Manila has been the largest city and the most important seaport in the Philippines for centuries, from the colonial rule of Spain, the United States, and Japan and after the establishment of the Republic of the Philippines in 1946. During World War II, Corregidor played an important role during the invasion and liberation of the Philippines from Japanese forces. Heavily bombarded in the latter part of the war, the ruins left on the island serve as a military memorial to American, Filipino and Japanese soldiers who served or lost their lives on the island. Corregidor is one of the important historic and tourist sites in the country. (from Wikipedia)

It was about two years ago when the boyfriend and I went there. From what I remember, the all-inclusive fares are the same regardless if you are going on a weekday or a weekend. But don’t quote me on that, as this was 2 years ago. I remember the fare being php1999 per person – inclusive of the tour, and buffet lunch. c2The tour will take almost an entire day, so it’s best that you are well rested and ready for the full day ahead. The two of us have been planning to go there for a few weeks before it actually happened. It was one sunny weekday in October when we finally went. c3Sun Cruises are the people who will take care of your entire trip to Corregidor. I think they are the only travel agency (if the term is right) that has exclusive coverage of Corregidor. Their office is located at the CCP area, almost beside the Harbor Square. We were are the ticketing office at around 7AM since we read online that the ferry for the day leaves at around 730a-8am. We went there early in the morning without ticket reservations. We actually got a bit scared because there may not be enough seats for standby folks like us, but again, since it was a weekday, there was enough for everyone in line. I’m not sure though if they still allow people to buy same-day tickets, since I remember seeing Sun Cruises offering travel deals before. Best to check their website. c5Since it’s just a day trip, we only brought travel essentials. We had our trusted backpack, which has bottled water, sunblock, cameras (of course!), hankies, small towel, not sure if we brought an umbrella but it is advisable. It’s okay to bring snacks with you, so you won’t have to wait for lunch if you’re already hungry. I would suggest bringing in an extra shirt, just in case you want to change clothes after lunch, especially if the weather gets too humid. c4The trip from CCP to Corregidor takes about an hour. As soon as you get to the island, you will be divided into different groups and shuttles.Filipinos are not the only people that actually go to Corregidor. So there would be shuttles that has folks from America, Europe and Asia. The tour guides on each shuttle will then know what language to use and what information to share because as we all know, history and war are very sensitive topics. c6I almost forgot, you should also bring insect repellent spray. My picture above where I was reaching for my leg, I was actually about to scratch it hehehe. It was a itchy because we walked on grass and something probably bit me. c7One good thing about the tour is that, they make it a point not to make each stop too crowded. There would probably be just a maximum of 2-3 shuttles per stop, so that’s more time for solo pictures and less people. But again, this may not be the case during peak seasons or weekends. So as you can see, we do have a lot of pictures where the place looks deserted and like we are the only living creatures there. 🙂 c8It’s a very, very beautiful place. Everything is so picture-perfect. But I cannot imagine how it looks like during the war period. Whoever took the time to make the island how it looks like now, did an excellent job at preserving its beauty and scars. c9This is at the museum where it’s okay to play with those missiles on display. Again, people at Sun Cruises know crowd control – it’s not like those places where all your pictures are photobombed, hehehe. c10Yes. There is a lighthouse. And you can climb it!!! Great view of the island!!! One thing you have to take note of, is they are strict when it comes to the places that you are allowed to visit. I remember our guide telling us that there are still live bombs and that’s why there are restricted areas. This is one tour where it’s important to stick to your group. c11This was our view while having lunch. One of the hundred reasons why I love this trip is the weather. It was perfect for the trip. I don’t remember much about the food, but I’m sure I got enough to last me the entire day, hehehe. c12After lunch, there will be a few more stops around the island before the last part, which is going to the Malinta Tunnel. Going in is optional, since you have to pay for the entrance fee separately. Sorry, I can only remember that it was less than php200. And I’m not sure if the entrance fee is the same or not. It’s also optional to have an overnight stay at the island. From what I read over the internet, they offer other activities aside from the island tour. _MG_6690“Sleep my sons, your duty is done.. For freedoms light has come. Sleep in the silent depths of the sea. Or in your bed of hallowed sod. Until you hear at dawn the low, clear reveille of God.”

2 thoughts on “Travel Tales: Corregidor

    1. we didn’t have to pay for anything aside from the all-inclusive fare since it already includes lunch. accdg to Sun Cruises website, the day tour now costs php2200 + optional php200 if you want to do the malinta tunnel tour. hope it helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

