My Birthday

For the past 2-3 years, everyday on my birthday I am at a different place. I realized that spending money traveling on my birthday bring me more joy and fulfillment. πŸ™‚ Let’s face it, birthday celebrations would sometimes automatically mean budgeting and spending moolaaah. So for the past few years, I make it a point to look for a place to celebrate my birthday. Thank goodness I have very supportive parents who are always okay with me travelling, regardless if it’s my birthday or not.

I love birthdays. And my parents supported my love for it. I would always have birthday cakes and birthday celebrations with my family. I remember seeing pictures of my parents celebrating my first birthday without me. You see, my parents worked abroad. So when I turned 1, they had their own celebration with their friends abroad. πŸ™‚ My mom knew how to bake a cake so she will just make one during our birthdays, and eventually taught us how to. Seriously, I have tons of birthday pictures, with cakes, balloons and gifts.

In college, I remember writing down every single text message I received during my birthdays. Hehehehe. Well, that’s the sentimental side of me. And weird probably, hehe. That was the time when texting was the in thing. The only problem was, that notebook is gone. Huhuhu. Sayang!!! 2006, which marked my first birthday after studying, was probably the worst (oops). That was the time that I just got out of a long-term relationship and when I was booted out of work (didn’t get regularized) hehe. It was probably also one of the worst times of my life. It was so sad I had no appetite, I had no plans, I did nothing but sleep, cry and sometimes drink. But I am still thankful because I have friends Kaye and Jeff who were there for me and celebrated it with me πŸ™‚

2Birthday 2007. After moving on from a failed relationship and getting a new job in 2007, I was back on track. I was always busy with work and with spending time with people I love. This was just a simple get together slash birthday celebration with my high school friends, but we were all soo giddy and excited to see each other. We were all 22 that time, and 22 was an age when we were all still pretty amazed with life after college.

5In 2008, after enjoying the single life for 2 years, I went ahead and decided to take risk and fall in love again ( wow ha ang drama at ang cheesy!). Say hello to the boyfriend who understood all my weirdness and adapted to my love for travel. πŸ™‚ This was a surprise birthday getaway. He only told me about our trip the night before our actual travel hehehe.

6It was my first time ever to Cebu and I really enjoyed it. Little did I know that this trip would be the start of our many trips together and birthdays travelling.

12008 was a little uneventful. For a change, we didn’t plan on any travel and I didn’t even go on leave. Well, I had some issues with my mom that year so it was a bit hard for me to fully be happy and celebrate. I am always thankful with the Man above for always blessing me with friends and loving people. My team during that time, which we call Team Gaga, surprised me by completing the stickers for the Starbucks planner. πŸ™‚ They also gave me 1 giant birthday card with 3 more cards inside. Super sweet and thoughtful. And all this they prepared while we were all at work, hehe. Ooh, and the boyfriend gifted me with the N71. πŸ™‚

3In 2009, I went to Camarines Sur, together with my closest workmates. I was with Jejoi, LJ and Joewa and it was our first ever out-of town trip. These people were the first people that I became friends with when I was just starting with my new job and they have been with me through all the office shits and rumors. Hehe.

4We visited CWC, CamSur’s man-made wakeboarding complex, and spent the rest of our trip in Caramoan. We were fortunate to have made the trip while the CamSur hype was just starting. The islands we visited were probably one of the best we have been to at that time (El Nido is now on top of my list).

7Last year, for my 26th birthday, we went to Palawan. The plan was to go around Puerto Prinsesa and go to the famous Underground River. Unfortunately, there was a storm somewhere and the coast guard did not allow any boats to travel from the mainland to the tourist destination. So on all 4 days, we explored the city and spent the nights going to the town perya (carnival), hehehe. It was like 4 days of stress-free travel and bonding. We did nothing but eat and try out the different restaurants in the area. On our last day, we rented a motorbike and drove around the city until it was time for us to leave.

8This year is memorable because it is the first time I celebrated my birthday outside the country. We went to Hong Kong!! I loved everything about this trip! The food, the weather, the public transportation, everything!!!

9My favorite part will always be the day we went to Disneyland.. Woohoo!!! I have no idea if I’d be able to afford Disneyland in the US so I can at least cross out one more thing in my travel bucket list! Yahooo!!! This was a super memorable trip because it was our first time to go to Disneyland. It really is a once in a lifetime experience for me to be able to make one of my childhood dreams come true!!!

I’m already thinking about where to go next year, hehehe!!

More travel to come!

Leave a Reply

