Travel Tales: Cebu part 2

Back in 2008, I went to Cebu for my birthday. Then Cebu Pacific held a ticket sale and I saw myself with 10 friends flying off to Cebu in March 2009. Let me share with you my experiences in Cebu. Oh, pardon the blurry pictures from camera phones and digicams 😀

It’s the bridge that connects Mactan City to Cebu City, and I’m not quite sure why we had our picture taken here haha.

The Lapu-Lapu Shrine. If I remember it correctly, this was in the Mactan City area.

At the Magellan’s Cross.

At the Taoist Temple. This place has a great view of the city below.

Jump shot at Fort San Pedro.

If you have time on your hands, you might want to explore Bantayan Island. From Cebu City, travel via bus for 4 hours to the port that will take you to Bantayan Island. Buses are all in ordinary fare so be prepared for the dust and stop overs. Travel time is probably shorter if you hire a van or car to the port. We took the bus as it was the cheaper alternative.

Here we are the port ready to ride the roro (roll-on, roll-off) at the back. I already forgot how much the ticket costs, but I can never forget that long travel time. The roro will get you to Bantayan Island after 1 and a half hours. What was killing us was that the island can be seen right from the port, it’s just that the roro was super slow given that it has cars and trucks on it as passengers too. From the city to Bantayan, estimated travel time is 5-6 hours.

Since it was a weekday, we had the beach all to ourselves and we got 2 rooms at Sta. Fe Beach Club for php2000. Each room has 5 beds, perfect for us since there were 11 of us. The sand may not be as fine as people may expect, but it was still beautiful! Food was great as there was an abundance of fresh seafoods – my favorite!

Sunrise at Sta. Fe Beach Club. Pardon the poor photo, it even has a date and time stamp!!

But out of all the places I have been to in Cebu, my ultimate favorite would be at Alegre Beach Resort and Spa. It was absolutely divine! The picture below is nothing compared to the beauty of the place. For more pictures, visit their website. One of these days, I will come back to that place!! Ok, Melai, time to start saving!!!

So there, I know this is not really a worthy list of places to go to in Cebu, but it’s a start! 🙂

Leave a Reply

