Travel Tales: Cebu part 1

I’ve been to Cebu 3 times in my life but I know that there are still a lot of places that I have yet to see. Last May was my latest, and this time, it was with my family. Since it was technically just a day trip, we only explored the city and some of the tourist spots of the area.

Before dinner, we went to this place where they sell all sorts of dried fish and other pasalubongs. Cebu is just like Manila, where you can go from one place to another just by hailing a cab. Except that they abide more with the rules – maximum of only 4 passengers per cab (unlike the drivers in Manila).

During my second visit in Cebu, our friendly driver-slash-tour guide suggested that we eat at Larsian. Back then, it was as big as a warehouse that has tons of food stalls offering barbequed-anything, well, meat mostly.

The catch here is that you only eat with your hands.

You have the option to eat with your bare hands, or you can ask for plastic bags to serve as hand gloves. Cool huh? So since it was my family’s first time, I decided to bring them there. We all enjoyed it because it was a first time for the family, the food was great, and it was a different dining experience for all of us πŸ™‚

Back in 2009, it has a lot of stalls (as seen in the back). Now, there is just 1 stall offering that kind of dinner to the folks of Cebu. Not sure if it has something to do with the urbanization of the area.

The next day, we went around the city a bit before heading back to the airport.

Magellan’s Cross would always be on the list.

And since Fort San Pedro is very near, we just walked from the Cross to the Fort. My father was born in Mindanao and stayed in Cebu during his teenage years, studying and working. He had a lot of back-then stories of how the place looked like.

And that ends my family’s trip to Cebu! Hahaha. So for my next post, let me just share with you the places I have also visited during my first 2 trips to the beautiful island of Cebu πŸ˜‰

One thought on “Travel Tales: Cebu part 1

Leave a Reply

