Root Canal

(from Wikipedia) To cure the infection and save the tooth, the dentist drills into the pulp chamber and removes the infected pulp and then drills the nerve out of the root canal(s) with long needle-shaped drills. After this is done, the dentist fills each of the root canals and the chamber with an inert material and seals up the opening. This procedure is known as root canal therapy. With the removal of nerves and blood supply from the tooth, it is best that the tooth be fitted with a crown which increases the prognosis of the tooth by six times.

After 4 sessions, I am finally done with my first ever root canal.

I remember on my first session, I was injected more than 10 times (I think) just so I don’t feel ANY pain while drilling my nerves (as seen in the picture). The second and third session were no better because I still needed anesthesia. Anesthesia=injection. The problem was, I was given just enough pain blocker. I still needed to feel pain so that my dentist would know if there were still nerves left or not. Me feeling pain = nerves still alive and kicking.

I am so happy that it’s over! I’m happy because the drilling is over! I’m happy because the injections are over!

Boys and Girls, take care of your teeth! Don’t take it for granted! Not only will you literally feel pain, but it will also hurt your pockets! 😉

Leave a Reply

